New Texting While Driving Laws Enacted in Florida July 1
On July 1, Florida enacted new laws regarding the behaviors that are allowed for drivers in cars. Now, if you are a driver and you are caught texting, that is all that is required for a police officer to pull you over. The law that allows for this has been named the Wireless Communications While Driving Law, otherwise called the “Texting Law” by some. Even if you are simply holding your phone, this is enough to be pulled over by authorities.
Distracted driving is becoming a leading cause of car accidents across the United States. There are so many things that can lead to a driver being distracted, including eating and drinking, having rowdy passengers in a car, and even making adjustments on the radio. Cell phones are some of the most serious diverters of attention for individuals who aren’t driving, let alone the impact they have on those who need to have their full focus on the roads and their surroundings.
It is estimated that a driver is 23 times more likely to end up in a car accident when they are texting. Distracted driving causes 1 in 5 crashes that result in injuries each year, and 9 people die every day as a result of distracted driving accidents. It is scary to look at these statistics and also know that 1 in 3 individuals on the road admits to texting while driving.
The Wireless Communications While Driving Law
It is now illegal for an individual to operate a motor vehicle while typing into a wireless communications device or being engaged in texting, e-mailing, and instant messaging. Wireless communication devices are defined as any handheld device whose primary function is to receive or transmit text or character-based messages, access or store data, or connect with the internet, as well as connect with any type of communications service that has the ability for text communications.
An initial offense comes with a $30 fine, but the fine increases to $60 for a second offense. There are also court fees as well as points on the license that will result. Because this is a new law, even though it begins on July 1, warnings will be the only thing that occurs until January to help Floridians get used to the new restrictions. After January, the citations will begin.
Miami Car Accidents
There are approximately 6 million car accidents that occur each year in the United States. Injuries result in almost one half of all these incidents, with around 3 million. Every year over 1000 people are injured by a distracted driver. Distracted driving is reckless driving and it takes your attention away from the road enough that you could miss serious hazards and end up in a catastrophic accident. Reckless driving accounts for 33% of all fatal accidents in the country.
Do not hesitate to reach out for legal counsel when you have been injured in a car accident that was not your fault. The Miami car accident attorneys at Pita Weber & Del Prado are experts at building strong personal injury claims for residents of Florida who have been victimized. Our team of effective Miami personal injury lawyers will fight for you and help you obtain the highest amount of compensation for your damages. Call us today at (305) 670-6666 and speak with one of our experienced Florida car accident attorneys about your claim.