Does Florida Law Require Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Florida law requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of auto insurance. According to Einsurance, all drivers across the Sunshine State must carry at least $10,000 bodily injury per person and no less than $10,000 of property damage liability.
Florida motorists are also required to have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) because the Sunshine State is a no-fault auto insurance state. PIP provides coverage for a portion of a person’s medical bills and lost wages.
Is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Mandatory in Florida?
Florida law does not require uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) even though the odds of encountering an uninsured or underinsured driver is much higher in the Sunshine State than in any other state.
Florida’s minimum auto insurance requirements are much lower than those in most other states, and yet more than a quarter of all motorists in the state do not have any insurance coverage whatsoever.
The Risk of Carrying the Bare Minimum Auto Insurance
How much auto insurance you will carry depends on three factors:
- The state’s minimum insurance requirements;
- The choice of the insurer; and
- The preferences of the policyholder.
Without insurance coverage, a driver’s personal assets are at risk if the injured party files a personal injury lawsuit against the uninsured driver. However, if you choose to carry the bare minimum auto insurance in Florida, your coverage is inadequate to compensate for a serious injury.
Given the high cost of medical treatments, procedures, and medicine these days, $10,000 would not be enough to provide adequate compensation for someone who was severely injured in a car accident. If the costs exceed the minimum insurance coverage, the driver is at risk of litigation.
Do You Need UIM in Florida?
If you choose to carry bodily injury liability coverage as part of your auto insurance policy, your insurers will also offer you an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UIM). Typically, the amount of UIM is the same as you choose for bodily injury liability.
UIM coverage covers you for losses and damages in the event you get injured in a car, truck, or motorcycle accident with an uninsured motorist, or if the other party does not have an adequate amount of insurance to compensate for your losses.
Although uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not legally required in Florida, it would be a good idea to purchase this type of coverage for two reasons:
Approximately one out of every four car drivers in Florida are driving without insurance. In other words, there is a 25% chance of being in a car crash with an uninsured motorist. If you are injured in a collision with an uninsured driver, it will be difficult or nearly impossible to recover compensation.
Due to Florida’s minimum insurance requirements, the majority of drivers in Florida are not adequately insured. In other words, their policy coverage is not sufficient to compensate for your losses.
Speak with Miami car accident attorneys if your collision involved an uninsured or underinsured driver. Contact Pita Weber Del Prado to evaluate your options, regardless of whether you have UIM or not. Call at 305-670-2889 to get a legal review.