Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Miami Personal Injury Lawyer
Call for a Free Consultation
Personal Injury • Wrongful Death • Medical Malpractice
Miami Personal Injury Lawyer > Blog > Car Accident > 2019 Worst Drivers in the U.S. by State

2019 Worst Drivers in the U.S. by State

shutterstock_297948470

The third annual study on states with the most unsafe drivers on the road has been released by SmartAsset for 2019. The metrics that were used to measure each state against each other include:

  1. Percentage of all drivers on the road that are insured versus uninsured
  2. The amount of DUI arrests per 1000 drivers
  3. The number of fatalities per 100,000 vehicle miles driven
  4. As well as internet metrics of state residents searching for key phrases like “traffic accident” or “speeding ticket”

Findings

While New Mexico got a bump and moved out of the top 10, the majority of states from 2018 are still sitting in the worst top 10 spots again this year. For 2019, Florida has been downgraded from number 8 to number 4. This is consistent with the general conclusions that Florida is dangerous for drivers. Based on these studies, Florida again proves to have a persistent problem with poor drivers on the roadways.

Only a bit over 73% of drivers in the state of Florida have car insurance, which across the nation is the very lowest. Our state also ranks #11 across the country for highest search engine volumes for traffic tickets. This most recent information regarding the safety of driving in the state provides something for everyone, from residents to visitors alike, to be aware of when they are ready to hit the open roads.

Accidents Without Car Insurance in Florida

Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state meaning that when there is a traffic accident between two parties the payment for damages comes directly from each policyholder’s insurance. It doesn’t matter who is at fault, if you have insurance, your insurance will pay for minor damages.

If someone without insurance has hit you and the accident caused you severe disabilities and injuries, you may have a viable case to pursue a civil suit against them for compensation to pay for the damages. Driving without insurance is illegal in the state. When an individual drives without insurance their license can be suspended and there are fees and punishments associated with this activity. Penalties can include a reinstatement fee of $150 and up to $500 for any further violations.

Contact an Attorney Today for Help

When you have been the victim of a car accident that was not your fault and sustained injuries, you have the right to pursue a lawsuit against the liable parties for your injuries. If you make the decision to move forward with a suit, you need the help of a Miami personal injury attorney. There is a 4-year statute of limitations to file your suit, so there is no time to waste building your case.

The experienced Miami car accident attorneys at Pita Weber Del Prado have extensive experience building successful cases for our clients. We have represented victims across the state of Florida who have decided to pursue personal injury claims. Call us today at (305) 670-6666 and speak to one of our resourceful attorneys regarding your claim.

Resource:

smartasset.com/checking-account/states-with-the-worst-drivers-2018-edition

https://www.pwdlawfirm.com/proposed-changes-to-floridas-pip-laws/

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2019 Pita, Weber & Del Prado. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing is managed by MileMark Media.